FMI All-Sky Camera Locations

MIRACLE All-Sky Camera Locations

A map

The MIRACLE network includes eight all-sky cameras (ASCs), six of which belong to Finnish Meteorological Institute. The ASCs at Sodankylä and Abisko are operated by the Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory. The ASC in Ny Alesund (ITACA) is operated by the Italian Space Institute in Rome (Istituto di Fisica dello Spazio Interplanetario of Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, IFSI/CNR). The map on the left shows the locations of the digital all-sky camera stations.

If there are no technical faults that prevent using the camera, observations are made every night throughout the whole winter.

The operation of each imager is controlled by the station computer of the all-sky camera station.

Geographical locations

HAN Hankasalmi 62.30 26.65
NYR Nyrölä 62.34 25.51
MUO Muonio 68.02 23.53
KIL Kilpisjärvi until summer 2009 69.02 20.87
KIL Kilpisjärvi since autumn 2009 69.05 20.78
KEV Kevo 69.76 27.01
ABK Abisko 68.36 18.82
SOD Sodankylä 67.42 26.39
LYR Longyearbyen until spring 2007 78.20 15.70
LYR Longyearbyen Since autumn 2007 78.15 16.04
NAL ITACA/Ny Alesund 78.92 11.93
DNB ITACA/Daneborg 74.31 338.78

More information: Kirsti Kauristie